President Obama Signs Missouri Disaster Declaration

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Missouri and prepared Federal aid to supplement State and local revival efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on April 19, 2011, and continuing.
The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected persons in the counties of Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis, and Taney.

Assistance can embrace grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help persons and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to State and entitled local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities injured by the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding in St. Louis County.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Elizabeth Turner as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the unnatural area.

FEMA said that damage surveys are ongoing in other areas, and additional counties may be designated for assistance after the assessments are fully completed.

FEMA said that inhabitants and business owners who continued losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.